Linux.com

Linux Corporation scam targets the unwary

Posted by: Anonymous [ip: 10.1.120.60] on October 26, 2007 12:24 AM
I received the following on hotaussie.com. Did respond because of the amount but didn't think that they would actually pay 5000, more thought it was up to 5000 pounds. A man by the name of George Miller got in contact with me, one of the problems I found in his "paper work" was that there was no company registration, no proper format, no proper letter head or company logo with the e-mail, then I noticed he is using "gmail". I requested a company number and then came accross this spam notice.

My name is Regina Williams, i am a free lance model scout from
> London,United Kingdom.My services have been employed by Linux company here
> in London, to search for models who's photos will be featured on their new
> laptop,desktop,PDA screensavers & wallpapers;flash
> templates and webmail compose backgrounds.
> Linux company as a renowned company,is known as one of the world's
> best SMTP,POP3 & IMAP email service providers and web developers.This
> company is soliciting for the right and permission to make use of or
> buy thirty of your photos.
> Linux company proposal to make use of your photos or buy the
> copyright to your photos,falls in accordance with the provisions of
> the Companies Allied Matters Act as pronounced by the British
> Corporate Affairs Commission and endorsed by the British Copyright
> Council.
> For more information about the issues pertaining to this contract,you
> can mail the company at: george.miller.gm@gmail.com
>
> You can equally call them at: +447045750370
>
> Your reply in this regard is anticipated soonest!
>
> Regards
> Regina Williams.
>
> Model Scout.

#

Return to Linux Corporation scam targets the unwary