Linux.com

New and Confused!!

Link to this post 28 May 11

Hello Linux Community,

Well I'm a newbie with the Linux world and totally green with when it comes to software, driver installs and the all around technical attributes of Linux computing. As you have already noticed I've been with "WinDoze" as they say, too long. I want to convert darn it!! :blink:

So I am here for advice and direction. My first accomplishment is the installation of Fedora 14. I don't know why this distro but then again why not right? OK my first form of duty is to install a Asus usb N13 wireless net work adapter. As we all know in MS WinDoze all we need to do is insert disc and follow the promps....simple, In Linux no such pleasure...I actually have to work a little to get what I want. No biggie I like work and work hard at it, but I can admit failure...but never defeat. Thats why I'm here, looking for a hand and not "da-feet" :P

Anyway, please direct me on how to go about getting my n13 installed. Picture too would be great ;)

Thanks you!

We'll need to know what wireless chip is in that adapter. If you type "lsusb" (without the quotes) in a terminal it should tell us, look for the line that says wireless network adapter or wifi network adapter, then post that line here.

Hello Goineasy9 and thanks for your reply.

$ lsusb = "Bus 001 Device 007: ID 0b05 : 1784 ASUSTek Computer, Inc. 802.11n Network Adapter"

This usb dongle seems a bit problematic. First let's check a few things. Are you totally updated, that is, have you kept up with the updates that F14 has released since you installed? If not, run:

su <enter>
<your password> <enter>
yum update

Then just answer the prompts until it is finished. If you're updated, then, forget that part.

Question: Do you have the rpmfusion repo installed? If you don't know, you can run:

yum repolist

in the terminal, and if RPM Fusion isn't one of your repos, we can help you set it up.