Linux.com

Printers in Linux Mint and Ubuntu

Link to this post 12 Nov 11

I have 2 network printers available to me - HP Officejet 6500 and Lexmark Prevail Pro 705. The HP installs in both Ubuntu and Mint (they are, after all basically the same). However, I can't get my Lexmark to install "out of the box", as there are no drivers included in either Distro. As I am a newbie to Linux, I am not yet comfortable working on the command line. Is there a simple, safe way to get the Lexmark installed? The Lexmark site implies that this printer is not compatible with Ubuntu-like OS newer than 10.10

Link to this post 13 Nov 11

Lexmark has only recently started providing drivers again for Linux systems. For the longest while they couldn't care less about Linux. Which is strange since Networked systems usually use Linux for the server and the network printers are usually attached to servers.

You can do a search for your printer model here:
http://support.lexmark.com/index?page=home&locale=en&userlocale=EN_US

Searching for your printer I came up with this link:
http://support.lexmark.com/index?locale=en&startover=y&userlocale=EN_US&question=Prevail+Pro+705&productCode=LEXMARK_PREVAIL_PRO705&page=answers&detectedProductFacet=CMS-CATEGORY_REF.LEXMARK.PRODUCTS.ALLINONE.LEXMARK_PREVAIL_PRO705&searchid=1321143624817#2

Which led me to this link for the Linux printer driver:
http://support.lexmark.com:80/lexmark/index?page=content&locale=EN&productCode=&segment=SUPPORT&viewlocale=en_US&searchid=1321143625716&actp=search&userlocale=EN_US&id=DR20545

Link to this post 18 Nov 11

To GoinEasy9

Thnx for your quick - and useful - reply.