Linux.com

Supercomputer???

Link to this post 26 Apr 11

Hi, I am new to all this and probably have some ideas that I want my computer to do and do not exist. But there is this one thing I would like to get my computer to do. I am not quite sure how to explain it but I will do my best. What I would like to do is combine all the computers I have and make a really powerful system that also has something like artificial inteligence. If an of you have watched the tv series "Ocean Girl" you might understand what I am talking about because their HELEN 3000 is something like what I want to do.

It looks like you want a cluster, read http://www.mcsr.olemiss.edu/bookshelf/articles/how_to_build_a_cluster.html for instructions on setting one up.

The AI part is just about programming it right, and it's bad to say that you want AI it is better to say what you want it to do. You might want to look into the programming language Lisp commonly used in AI programming. And you don't need to combine the computers to program AI. For most smaller applications I think todays computers are more than fast enough, the problem is in the programming. And combining computers to act as one just add complexity.

As you see AI is a wide topic: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Artificial_intelligence

The best and only book I have on the topic is "Artificial intelligence A modern approach" (second edition Stuart J. Russell + Peter Norvig) I recommend it if you want to learn more about AI It has very hi quality in my opinion. (I have a China only ex. that I got second hand: ISBN: 7-302-12829-4/TP 8162)

Link to this post 27 Apr 11

Ok so this stuff looks like going in the right direction. Now how would I be able to talk to the computer in every room in a house? Would I have to install a mic in every room?