• Last Logged In: 24 Jul 13

Latest Posts

Posted by
Topic
Post Preview
Posted
  • Tomas Ramirez
    documentation
    Hi, I'm relatively new to linux, and one thing I have trouble with is documentation. Are pro linux users expected to be reading source code for the _real_ documentation? I'm already a windows developer, but I'm still learning to develop on linux, and I want to be skilled like a pro. Here's a specific example. I was just trying to understand how to interpret the list that is printed when I run [code]yum check-update[/code] After searching the man page and yum website, I only saw a description of what the command does, but not how to interpret the output. I know it is supposed to list all packages with updates applied to them, but I do not simply get a list of names, I get a list in the format ' |
    Link to this post 02 Jan 12

Hi, I'm relatively new to linux, and one thing I have trouble with is documentation. Are pro linux users expected to be reading source code for the _real_ documentation? I'm already a windows developer, but I'm still learning to develop on linux, and I want to be skilled like a pro.

Here's a specific example. I was just trying to understand how to interpret the list that is printed when I run

yum check-update

After searching the man page and yum website, I only saw a description of what the command does, but not how to interpret the output. I know it is supposed to list all packages with updates applied to them, but I do not simply get a list of names, I get a list in the format '<name> | <size> <time>', followed by a list in the format <name> <number>/<number>. Here's an example:
    Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
    adobe-linux-i386 | 951 B 00:00
    adobe-linux-i386/primary | 11 kB 00:00
    fedora/metalink | 21 kB 00:00
    fedora | 4.2 kB 00:00
    fedora/primary_db | 12 MB 01:23
    fedora/group_gz | 431 kB 00:03
    spotify | 1.3 kB 00:00
    spotify/primary | 1.5 kB 00:00