Linux.com

Is This Program Even Possible

Link to this post 18 Jul 11

I'm saying sorry in advance if this is not the correct place to ask a question but it seemed the most logical to me. I will be the first to admit that I am not a techie in a technical sense (all pun intended) but I do believe my background in philosophy and logic have brought me to thinking about what one of my tech friends has called "a high-level and advance IT question". My good friend also told me nothing is impossible to create in software, you just need to find the right Baby genius to build it :) So I find myself here. [For clarity reasons I am going to use two program examples that best fit what I am envisioning: They are Google Chrome web browser and Google Chromium OS] Here we go.

It seems to me that Chrome web browser and Chromium OS essentially do the same thing its just one works as a program within an operating system and the other works as a stand alone Operating system in itself. Further more they are two separate programs. My question is is it even possible to create software that works as a program (Chrome web browser) within an operating system (Mac, Windows 7, Linux) but the SAME program can also be used as a stripped down operating system THAT ONLY ACCESSES THE INTERNET (Chromium OS) on that same computer with the Mac, Windows 7 or Linux on it. Essentially its combining a program like Chrome web browser and Chromium OS into one and changes the Hierarchy relationship between the two. That means using the program as a stripped down Operating system that accesses the internet is a secondary function and using it as a program that accesses the internet within a local operating system is the primary function.