Linux.com

Home

Make a Difference: Ada Lovelace Day

 

Just a quick reminder to you good folks that Ada Lovelace Day is happening on Wed 24th March 2010. For those of you unfamiliar with it, it is a fantastic initiative that was kicked off last year to highlight and celebrate the achievements of women in technology and science.

The goal of the day is for people across the world to blog about women who are doing great work in technology and science. From the website:

Women’s contributions often go unacknowledged, their innovations seldom mentioned, their faces rarely recognised. We want you to tell the world about these unsung heroines, whatever they do. It doesn’t matter how new or old your blog is, what gender you are, what language you blog in, or what you normally blog about – everyone is invited.

This year as part of the day there is a goal to get 3072 people to sign a pledge to blog on Ada Lovelace Day: it is a simple pledge to do something that doesn’t take much time but joins a chorus of people who support gender equality in technology and science. I have signed it and so should you. :-)

My Contribution

I will be writing my blog entry to appear on Wednesday, highlighting many of the women who I think are doing awesome work in technology, and I will also be delivering one of my At Home With Jono Bacon videocasts which will be themed around Ada Lovelace day and also include the usual Q+A session. The videocast will be streamed live at 11am Pacific / 2pm Eastern / 6pm GMT/UTC. You can watch it live here.

So, are you folks going to go and pledge and blog?

 

Comments

Subscribe to Comments Feed

Who we are ?

The Linux Foundation is a non-profit consortium dedicated to the growth of Linux.

More About the foundation...

Frequent Questions

Join / Linux Training / Board