Linux.com

Home Directory

groovydaddy

Reviews(18)
bygroovydaddy, July 23, 2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
This is a cool little distro! Not only run directly from CD/USB, but has built in persistence! It will remember what you do and save what you ask it to. Puppy Lupu 5.0 is built on Ubuntu code, so it is even more user friendly than it is known for. Great for beginners to install on a hard disk or for anyone needing a portable OS solution.
bygroovydaddy, July 21, 2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
For Windows users and formerly ex-Windows users (similar to myself), I feel Linux Mint KDE is a GREAT choice to get into a stable, easy to use OS. I've used many, many different Linux distros with countless WM/DE configurations, and Mint KDE is my favorite so far. Mint picked up where Ubuntu left off to make Mint even easier to use, understand, and customize than Ubuntu. Plus, in the battle of the two heavyweight DE's, KDE kicks GNOME's butt any day of the week.

Bottom line: Mint KDE is a winner because it is sophisticated enough for Linux vets and easy enough for noobs. * * * * *
bygroovydaddy, April 14, 2010
Once you get Slax set up, it is a really good little system. Getting it set up is the hard part. Slax's website is full of different software applications, drivers, etc. that be added to the distro. It is hard to know what is needed, and hard not to go overboard by picking too much stuff. I became so frustrated trying to get all the stuff I needed to run my netbook with Slax, I decided to give it up and move on.

If you're looking for a small OS to run from a thumb drive, I would recommend installing TinyMe onto a 4GB USB.
bygroovydaddy, April 13, 2010
The GUI in Knoppix was good, but that was really all that I liked about it. I had Knoppix installed on a thumb drive, and used it on a number of computers. On each computer (desktops, laptops, and netbooks), Knoppix did not detect the mouse/touchpad for the computer that I was using. Also, Knoppix did not pick up any of the NIC cards for the computers that I used, so no Internet (wired and wireless). This became very frustrating after a while, so I replaced Knoppix with TinyMe.
bygroovydaddy, April 13, 2010
Essentially, this is a teeny, tiny, little PCLinuxOS or Mandriva. The feel is very similar to either. I installed this OS on a 4GB Sandisk Cruzer USB drive, and have used it as a primary OS for school, rescue/recovery work, and for fun! Great interface, and nicely equipped for such a small OS! I would highly recommend this distro to someone looking for a portable system (like I use it), people with old equipment they are not ready to throw away, and people with newer machines they want to be lightning fast. Good job TinyMe team!
bygroovydaddy, April 13, 2010
This is an excellent distro to install on a 4+ GB flash drive that you have laying around (and you know you do) to use for file recovery, or even as your primary OS. Installs easily to thumb drive or hard drive, Openbox environment is different and interesting, and the minimalist desktop environment is clean and cool. I like #! very much. I'm looking forward to future releases.
bygroovydaddy, April 13, 2010
I really liked this distro when I tried it via live USB (http://www.linuxliveusb.com). PCLinusOS is a KDE formatted, easy to use distro with good eye candy and great functionality. Use of the terminal isn't really even required with this distro, which people trying Linux for the first time will appreciate. After all, the average Windows user doesn't really go into the command prompt for much of anything! I am not using this distro currently as I feel there is opportunity to improve on the look and "feel" of the distro. Plus, I prefer lighter-weight distros... As awesome as KDE is, its a bit chunky.
bygroovydaddy, April 13, 2010
Vector is a fast, small system that would be great for netbooks and refurb/recycled computers with limited resources IF Vector had better hardware support. I think its great that Vector wants to keep their system small and simple -- I'm all for that. Let's also make it plug and play, so that it is small, simple, & easy to configure.

I used the LXDE configuration of VectorLinux 6 on my netbook and liked the system as a whole, but again, the hardware support sucked...
bygroovydaddy, April 13, 2010
The whole reason that I tried Mepis is because of the "Mepis Magic," that is, the automatic hardware detection. I've tried many different Linux OS's and had to configure hardware, and I did not want to do this again. Anyway, I create a live USB (http://www.linuxliveusb.com), give it a go, and my WI-FI, webcam, and mic were all non-existent with Mepis. I was using an Averatec Buddy netbook with no propriotery drivers (no Broadcom, Nvidia, etc). I'm not sure why it didn't work, but it didn't. I had the same problems with antiX, the micro-Mepis distro.

All that said, I did like that Mepis was using KDE 3.5, though I think it will be better when they upgrade to KDE 4. The OS is nicely equipped with software, and it is easy to navigate.
bygroovydaddy, April 13, 2010
Mandriva Linux
Mandriva is a good OS, no doubt. It has been around for years and has millions of users. I downloaded the Mandriva 2010 Free DVD ISO file (huge 4.3 GB honker) and downloaded it on my refurb desktop computer (Lenovo IBM ThinkCenter, 40GB HDD, 512MB RAM, Intel Pentium 4 chipset). One of the RAM cards is fried in this refurbished "wonder," so I'm really only running 256MB. During the installation, I opted for the LXDE version due to the very limited resources on this computer. That said, Mandriva 2010 Free LXDE absolutely FLIES on this computer! The applications ran smoothly, I was able to download new applications smoothly... It made this hunk of junk feel like a new computer again! What I did not like about this particular distro is that the DVD has to be readable during any downloads. This desktop only has a CD-ROM, so I had to use the external DVD-RW drive that I use for my netbook (which is my primary computer) whenever I needed something. I didn't like that inconvenience, so I opted to replace Mandriva 2010 Free with another distro, moonOS.
bygroovydaddy, December 7, 2009
One of my friends uses the Ubuntu Studio. He was a ProTools guy before he found this. This program is comparable to ProTools for small projects, so using this in a small production environment (home studio, small commercial studio) would be a great idea. You'll save a lot of money by not BUYING ProTools that you can upgrade you other studio hardware with. Get it and try it.
bygroovydaddy, December 4, 2009
I've been using Outlook for years at various jobs on Windows XP computers. Needless to say, I'm used to Outlook, and I like it a lot. I actually like Thunderbird as much as (if not more than) Outlook! The format is similar, though I feel Thunderbird is easier to set up and use than Outlook. Simple, straight-forward email.
bygroovydaddy, December 4, 2009
My wife is the IM'er in the family, and she has 2 or 3 different IM accounts. With Pidgin, she can keep up with all of them from one source and one login. Safe and convenient for those of you who IM.
bygroovydaddy, December 4, 2009
Safe, lightweight, fast internet browser with great functionality.
bygroovydaddy, December 2, 2009
Fedora
I liked Fedora when I tried it. The OS seemed to be set up simply (I need simple :-D), and its supported by Red Hat, which I understand is a very good thing. I'm a newbie to Linux, and I had a lot of trouble finding drivers to allow my printer, camera, and WiFi to work. This is probably just because I'm new -- other than the driver hiccup, Fedora was very comfortable to use. I ultimately decided to use another OS (Xubuntu), but I may come back to Fedora later when I have more Linux experience under my belt.
bygroovydaddy, December 1, 2009
Ubuntu
Ubuntu is the first Linux OS that I ever tried. One of my classmates at ITT Tech gave me a Wubi CD that allowed me to install Ubuntu within Windows and run it on a dual boot. Prior to this, I had never even heard of Linux. Anyway, I booted it up, and I liked the different feel of the Gnome environment right away. Because it was so new, I didn't really mess with it a lot because I wasn't sure exactly what I was doing. :) I ended up uninstalling Ubuntu from my Windows laptop and experimenting with other distros to find out what I liked and didn't like. I went through Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Fedora, Mint, PuppyLinux, and Kuki (which introduced me to Xfce, which I liked a lot!). I finally landed on Xubuntu, the Xfce varient of Ubuntu.
bygroovydaddy, December 1, 2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
I tried this distro, along with many others, from a Linux Live USB (http://www.linuxliveusb.com). I liked that it feels similar to Windows, but there's something about the KDE format that I prefer less than the Gnome format. This is the only KDE that I tried. That said, I did like Kubuntu, and it comes with a lot of great features. I ended up landing on Xubuntu (for now). :-D
bygroovydaddy, December 1, 2009
So, I'm a lifelong Windows user. School, work, home, yadda yadda...

I learned about Linux while just recently while in class at ITT Tech, and I had to try it out. I tried different distros, and liked a lot of them. I liked Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Fedora, Mandriva, Mint, and others. For me, Xubuntu has been the easiest to navigate through, customize, set up, and enjoy. There are so many distros to choose from, I'm sure there are those who would disagree. That's OK. At the end of the day, I have a dual boot with XP and Xubuntu on my laptop, and I'm going to install it on my pitiful excuse for a desktop soon and wipe out XP altogether on that computer.

Needless to say, I do not plan on upgrading from XP to Vista or Windows 7!! ;)

Upcoming Linux Foundation Courses

  1. LFD312 Developing Applications For Linux
    05 Jan » 09 Jan - Virtual
    Details
  2. LFS220 Linux System Administration
    05 Jan » 08 Jan - Virtual
    Details
  3. LFD331 Developing Linux Device Drivers
    12 Jan » 16 Jan - Virtual
    Details

View All Upcoming Courses

Featured Linux Video

More Linux Videos

Become an Individual Member
Check out the Friday Funnies

Search Directory

Sign Up For the Linux.com Newsletter


Who we are ?

The Linux Foundation is a non-profit consortium dedicated to the growth of Linux.

More About the foundation...

Frequent Questions

Join / Linux Training / Board