Home Learn Linux Linux Answers Networking Why switch on run level 3,4 and 5 while configuring ssh server?
  • Accepted Answer

    There r differences in the runlevels according to the operating system. Nearly 7 runlevels r supported in the standard Linux kernel (i.e., core of the operating system). They are:
    0 - System halt; no activity, the system can be safely powered down.
    1 - Single user; rarely used.
    2 - Multiple users, no NFS (network filesystem); also used rarely.
    3 - Multiple users, command line (i.e., all-text mode) interface & Network support; the standard runlevel for most Linux-based server hardware.
    4 - Not used/User-definable; For special purposes.
    5 - Multiple users, GUI (graphical user interface); the standard runlevel for most Linux-based desktop systems.
    6 - Reboot; used when restarting the system.

    As u mentioned here 3,4 and 5, for ur info 4 is not used but yes, 3 and 5 are generally used for networking purpose.

    Answered by rechil_colin
    2 years ago
    0 2
Similar Questions Found
Questions from category Networking

Upcoming Linux Foundation Courses

  1. LFD312 Developing Applications For Linux
    16 Feb » 20 Feb - Atlanta - GA
  2. LFD331 Developing Linux Device Drivers
    16 Feb » 20 Feb - San Jose - CA
  3. LFS220 Linux System Administration
    16 Feb » 19 Feb - Virtual

View All Upcoming Courses

Community Answers - Search

Who we are ?

The Linux Foundation is a non-profit consortium dedicated to the growth of Linux.

More About the foundation...

Frequent Questions

Join / Linux Training / Board