April 22, 2004

Effective PR for open source projects

Author: NewsForge Staff

This Saturday we're holding an IRC discussion with OSDN editor in chief Robin 'Roblimo' Miller about how to get the media spotlight to shine on your project. Robin recently wrote a NewsForge article article headlined Getting good PR for your open source project, and he's the author of The Online Rules of Successful Companies, so he's as strong an expert in this area as you're likely to find. The (moderated) chat will be at 2000 UTC (4 p.m. EDT, 1 p.m. PDT) on IRC server events.oftc.net, #promo, Saturday, April 24, 2004.Registration is not required. This is a "just show up" chat that will help any open source project leader or publicist get more (and more favorable) press attention not just from NewsForge, but from other IT media and even mainstream news outlets.

We strongly recommend reading Robin's earlier article on the topic before the chat session. Some of what he advocates is a little different from what commercial public relations people will tell you, but their objectives are not necessarily the same as yours.

The first half hour or hour of this IRC event will be moderated. After that, the channel will be open for general discussion.

While we'd like to have as many people as possible show up for the event, we realize that no time is convenient for everyone, so we'll be post a log next week not only for those who couldn't join us Saturday but as a reference for others to refer to in the future.

Click Here!