April 10, 2017

How to Configure RAID 5 (Software RAID) In Linux Using MDADM

RAID 5 stands for (Redundant Array of Independent Disks). Redundancy means if something fails there is a backup available to replace the failed one. RAID was first invented on year 1987. The main purpose of RAID 5 is to secure the data and protect from being missed or lost, Increase the read speed and also increase the overall performance of the system. RAID is a technology which is uses techniques like mirroring, Partity checking, Striping to secure the data. There are so many levels are there for RAID and each level comes with some new invented features.The types if RAID Level’s are : RAID 0, RAID 1, RAID 2, RAID 3, RAID 4, RAID 5, RAID 6, RAID 10 ( Combination of RAID Level 1 + RAID Level 0 ) but most used and famous RAID Level’s are :

  • RAID 0 – Striping the Data
  • RAID 1 – Mirroring the Data
  • RAID 5 – striping with parity check
  • RAID 6 – striping with double parity check
  • RAID 10 – Uses both mirroring and striping

Here in this article we are going to discuss on how to configure RAID 5 (Software RAID) in RHEL/CentOS 7.

Read Full Post: http://www.elinuxbook.com/how-to-configure-raid-5-in-linux-using-mdadm/

Click Here!